6.5 grendel

kilotanker22

Bought a 6.5 Grendel from a friend of mine. Palmetto upper, 15" m lock handguard, 18" barrel with a rifle length gas system. Has a pretty nice trigger in it, although I don't know what trigger it is. The lower was built by my friend.

Anyway, what I am looking for is advice from guys who have shot 95-100 grain bullets through a Grendel. Traditionally, does the Grendel prefer the lighter stuff? Or more so in the 120-130 range?

My philosophy of use is a home defense rifle I guess. That is why I purchased some 95 grain Vmax to load for it.

Who here shoots a Grendel? Any words of wisdom with this particular cartridge? Who makes good quality reasonably priced magazines for it?

I am no beginner, but I am brand new to this cartridge. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

GeauxTide

My Grendel shot 5 123 SST into .3". Haven't tried another. CFE223 is my powder, but the 8208XBR is Temp Insensitive.

stagpanther

Kilo--I think your intuition of going smaller, lighter with frangible is a good one--but that bullet is going to remain lethal for a long way if you miss your intended target. Grendel probably wouldn't be my first choice for a critical home defense cartridge even though I've had lots of them and it's wildcats, I've had arguments with many shooters since the Grendel list came out, I still think it is a "temperamental" design prone to the occasional stoppage if something is out of whack. These days I'm thinking maybe a quick-handling 9mm carbine with a composite frangible like scinter/inceptor might make for a very good home defense gun. I've driven a 65 gr inceptor to 3000 fps in one of my 9mm carbines. I like lehighs bullets a lot too--but in some 9mm chambers their "Phillips head" design has occasionally hung up on the chamber wall.

Last edited:

GeauxTide

One thing I forgot. I started out with Lee dies, but they didn't size the base down enough. Bought RCBS and that took care of that.

ed308