50 Action Express....now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SameShot

Hey folks,
I lost my mind and bought a LAR Grizzly 50AE in "Chrome".
I bought the thing after reading the "bears" thread and having it jump up in front of me at a pawn shop.
Problem is...I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THIS GUN. :)
Here's my questions:
1. Is this thing any good?
2. Is this thing chrome, or stainless or what?
3. Does it kick? (I have a 44 mag wheel now)
4. Will it take a bear?
5. Where the heck to I find reloading supplies for it?
6. Any good pet loads you care to share?
7. Any secret do's or don'ts?
8. Anyone have specs on the 50AE?
9. Anyone have a manual?

As you can see, I'm lost. I have lots of hangun experience, but this is without question the biggest, most expensive beast I've ever owned. Any advice, experience, or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks :)

------------------
Same Shot, Different Day

Phil Degraves

I have not shot the Grizzly so cannot speak for it. I have shot the 50AE from a Desert Eagle. It is an artillery piece. The 50 is a nasty round. If you don't flinch now, wait til you shoot it! Actually, it is a lot of fun to shoot a couple of times, but it runs about a buck a shot. Muzzle flash is tremendous. Haven't seen any reloading data on it. I think the factory load is a 300 grn bullet (might be a 305) at about 1400fps. The 44 mag is a sweetheart in comparison. It should take a black bear without a problem and it might even discourage larger bears.

Gunslinger

I haven't shot one either but I think it's chrome and not stainless. If you take a heavy file and....................... ;)