5.56/.223 Remington

Penn25

I haven't fired an AR (M16) since Vietnam and when I was a range coach in the mid 70s. Recently I figured it was time to buy one and reaquaint myself with the rifle I shot expert with.

I purchased an Anderson 5.56/.223 Remington carbine from Sportsmans Guide. They are selling them right now for $474 and change. Good price and nothing fancy. Have added a 3-9x40 Hammer scope which should be adequate for my shooting.

My question is related to what appears to be a much discussed issue of what ammo is safe to shoot, 5.56 Nato or .223 Remington? I know there is a difference in the leade/throat. Since Anderson has designated it as 5.56/.223 Remington is it equally safe shooting either round. In the old days (lol) you shot what you were given. If it's designated for both is there a compromise the leade of both? Thanks

Paul

Aloha

Targa

Shoot your pick of either 5.56/.223, the rifle is good for it. My only recommendation is to sight the rifle in for what grain and chambering you will shoot the most. For me, I have sighted mine in for 55 grain .223 PMC because I have stocked up on it due to the price.

marine6680

If the barrel is marked 5.56, then you can use either.

Most don't have an issues using 5.56 in a 223 chamber, but the potential for problems do exist, so most play it safe. I seen a test where they fired various load types from a 223 and 556 barrels ad measured the pressures, overall they said it wasn't a huge deal if you had a good rifle.

Wolf Gold 223 is actually 5.56 spec ammo despite the label, so it gets mixed around a bit.

I'm not recommending the practice, just providing the info. For increased safety, no 556 in a barrel marked 223.

Ibmikey

Many companies today do not mark caliber on the lower ---marking " multi" instead, as suggested above one should go by the caliber marking on the barrel. If marked " Wylde" the chamber will accept either .223 or 5.56mm.

Penn25