.45acp and bullseye?

Biathlonman

Ok I am new to reloading so forgive me if this is a stupid question. First off I am very book conscience right now, but I have a question about upping a load over the book value.

All sources I have found list 230gr LRN slug as having a max charge of 4.0gr (alhthough some call this the "target" load), while they list 5.0 with jacketed 230. I am looking to make an equivavlent round nose to my 230gr self defense load. Can I up my charge of bullseye with the LRN?

Pressures seem to be really low with the 4gr charge, but I am so new at this that I am looking for help.

I do have a chronograph which I was planning on using to get the lead to match the numbers of a factory jacket 230gr, self defense load.

With all that being said, I am still looking for a good safe practice round.....Thanks for your help!!!!

:confused: :confused:

C.R.Sam

Suggest work up two tenths at a time till you get it right.

Do not exceed 5gr.

If your bullets have proper lube, should be able to get the load to match. If proper lube on em, youre gonna get leadin. Watch for it.

Do not take my word for it. Second source ALL load data. Even that from printed pubs. Editorial gaffes and typos happen.

Sam

jjmorgan64

Alliant's website lists 4.0 gr bullseye as the max.

Minimum OAL 1.190
(inches)

Bbl Length 5.0

Primer Fed.

Powder Charge Weight Bullseye 4.0
(grains)

Velocity 810
(fps)

Chamber Pressure 13,900
(psi)

This sounds like a pretty sound load. If you want to increase thye umph a little you may want to switch powders.

Stephen A. Camp

Staff In Memoriam
Hello. I've loaded a ton of 225/230 gr CRN .45 ACP loads using exactly 5.0 gr BE with no pressure signs and no problems...ever.
I'm not advising to go beyond published data.

Different guns have different "maximums" and the publishers of reloading manuals have to take all pistols that might fire a load into account.

That loads gives right at 800 ft/sec from my 5" Kimber.