454?

geez768

This may sound dumb so if it does you can tell me. I am new to reloading, I was wondering that since you can fire the 454 casull from the 460 S&W Mag. Could you load the ballistic tip bullets from the 460 in the 454 case to make better hunting rounds.

snuffy

As curly would say, cointly! But why not just load them in 460 cases? OIC you have 454 cases but not 460 cases.

geez768

just an idea if you have a 454 and not a 460. could this be done, and would it be worth the effort? I figure they will fit in the case i just wonder if the 454 would be too long when loaded with these. or would inorder to make them short enough would you have to cut the powder too much?

bigautomatic

I don't know the Hornady SST would fit in the cylinder of a .454 revolver, but as far as I know the SST is not available as a component yet. You can get them in a muzzle loader application but there is no canelure to keep the bullet from jumping the crimp. I have went as far as pricing a canelure tool that Sinclair sells so that I can use the muzzle loader bullets in the .460 S&W (along with many other non-grooved projectiles that I'd like to try). I like the Barnes hollow points, but they are very expensive.

314EPW

Bullet Length?

The col for a 454 is 1.745?Col for 460 is 2.16.Putting an SST in there would probably compress the powder,And raise the pressure to the danger point.I use Hornady 250 and 300 grain Mag.I shoot 1 1/2 " at 50 yards.Good enough for me.i shot a deer at about 35 yds and it just dropped on the spot.
Ed

314EPW

Length?

I don't have the length of the SST,but I know they are longer than your standard pistol bullet.I use win 296 ar 32gr up to 36 gr for 200gr to 300 gr Hornady XTP.Not much space left in the case.Call Hornady,maybe I'm wrong.
Ed

BigDog454