.452 ACP leadball loads

Chili Palmer

Hi. I've been reading some here and like the forum. Should have joined and said hi before I had a serious question / dilemma but here I am. Any comments / advice would be appreciated.

I got into reloading this year. Primarily for .45ACP, then 9mm, then .223/5.56. I have my CCW and carry whenever possible. I have my own range and shoot as much as possible. I have a Kimber Pro Carry II and Sig C3 both .45ACP. My summer carry piece is a Kel-Tec PF-9, and when I wear more I carry my Kimber Pro Carry II. I bought the Kimber to use, I bought the Sig because it said Sig on it.

I ordered 2000 lead ball .452 230gr bullets from Missouri Bullet Co. I was ignorant to the online battle as to if you should use .451 or .452 for lead ball ACP loads. I loaded ~500. I didn't make the correlation... but I started shooting like crap. All over the target. WTH? The Kimber started failing to cycle (major leading in chamber) and my Sig shot all over the place. As time goes on my reloading bud at work (30+ years experience reloading fanatic and retired Army Major) said - you must use .451. OK so I buy a Lee .451 sizer. I've sized ~500 bullets but haven't loaded yet - too humid IMO and my range is outdoors next to a swamp and generally not that fun to shoot extensively in summer (horsefly sanctuary)

Sooo.. I have ~300 loaded cartridges with .452 (or however they came) bullets. I bought a Hornady Kinetic Bullet Puller and quickly learned it would take me about 300 minutes at least to unload 300 cartridges before I dealt with the mess of powder / humidity etc. As much as ammo costs it's a lot of waste to just toss but man what a chore I have if I unload them all. I can shoot them, but what's the use if they don't cycle or are very inaccurate. I can buy a forgiving .45 for twice the cost of the ammo if it were store bought.