450 Bushmaster feeding issue

Chaparral

I have a 450 Bushmaster that is from Bushmaster Arms. And I only have 1 magazine that came with the rifle that is a Bushmaster magazine. Folks this is sadly a great single shot. I can not get this gun to cycle. If I put rounds in the mag it will chamber the first round when I chamber the round. I fire the gun. The second round will stack up in the chamber with the empty casing. If I cycle 1 round and fire it; the chamber stays (locks) open and there is the empty casing just laying in the chamber. I want to keep this rifle. It is super accurate and I love the round.

Last edited:

langenc

Id be on the horn w/ Bushmaster and suggest they fix it.

I wish 450 would have come along a little sooner cause Id probably have one, at least an upper for my gun. I bet yours is a terrible black gun, also.
The only 'problem' Ive heard is they bark pretty loud but have a great small group bite out to over 200 yards.

Chaparral

Id be on the horn w/ Bushmaster and suggest they fix it.

I wish 450 would have come along a little sooner cause Id probably have one, at least an upper for my gun. I bet yours is a terrible black gun, also.
The only 'problem' Ive heard is they bark pretty loud but have a great small group bite out to over 200 yards.
Yeah that was one of my considerations. After obtaining the rifle I started seeing on the internet where people were having this issue with the 450 Bushmaster no matter who the maker is. I've seen everything from file this down, bought a new BCG, bought new mags, bought new spring, bought different buffer, etc etc etc. And they said the same thing in that " very accurate rifle, but........"

stagpanther

When you say chamber is left open--do you mean the bolt locks back after firing? I don't have a 450m bushmaster--but do have a 458 socom which I chose over the bushie specifically because it has a shoulder.

stagpanther