.45 Carry Options

Shadi Khalil

Hello all.

I'm able to feinagle about one gun a year, give or take a gun depending on the economy in my home. This year I'd really like to add a .45 that can occasionally do carry rotations. The guns that I'm interested in range in their size and capacity so excuse the overlap.

- P220/P220 carry, I have many years experience with the P series and have always wanted one. The are quite large and I'm not but I still think I can pull the full size Off on occasion.

- P245, Another one that I have been interested in for a long time. I know they are getting harder to come by and that will most likely affect the price if I ever find one.

- XDS45, I have no experience with xd's but like the idea of the sub compact in a big caliber.

- 1911, This is really my last choice. I've owned 1911's in the past and never had much luck. Granted they were Kimbers, they still left a bad taste. I also hate beaver tails. If I did go the 1911 route is probably consider the new Ruger alloy commander.

What else is out there? What's your. 45 carry? I've tried out a Glock 36 and 21; neither of them were very appealing to me. I currently carry a M&P 9c which is a fairly chunky and heavy gun so I'm not afraid of a little weight and size. Thanks in advance for your replies.

tony pasley

I have carried a full size plain jane 1911a1 at present I carry a Rock Island it is made to G.I. specs. and works reliably. I have carried several different brands and all G.I.

oldandslow

sk,

I've got a couple of your desired pistols, the Sig 220 and 245 and 1911's as well as a number of other carry guns to compare them to from SW (3rd gen), Beretta, HK-compact, etc.

First the Sig 220- I always had problems with the grip printing so this is mainly used as a range and home defense gun.