.41 Long Colt anyone?

ligonierbill

If I can find brass (backordered), I will have all the components. Anyone on here who can share their experience with this round? I have read several sources that indicate blackpowder works best. I have a lot of experience with flintlocks and am gaining it rapidly for cap-and-ball, but never loaded BP cartridges. Ordered a brass drop tube, and I know to measure by volume and ensure it's compressed, so no safety issues. If you shoot this round, what works best for you?

Sam06

I thought about it

I thought about getting started on the 41 Colt because there are so many guns out there for a great price in this caliber. I never got one so I did not get into it.

Here is a really good article on loading the 41 Long Colt and some tricks of the trade so to speak. Its not for the dilettante and I would not recommend it for you 1st project in reloading but it can be done now a lot easier than a few years ago.

http://harryo.sixshootercommunity.org/

tangolima

I asked the same question a while back. Some mentioned ways to convert from 30-30 casings. Search and you will find the thread. It can be done, but a hassle nonetheless.

Bullets are uncommon as well.

-TL

ligonierbill

I guess that's why the guns are available, few want to try it. This will be my 24th caliber, and I need another like a 40 caliber hole in the head, but it looks interesting and has some history to it. Starline make a seasonal run of brass, so I may just have to wait for their next issue.

Sam06

I have been reloading for almost 40 years and have a few oddball gun/cartridges I load for, like 40-82 Win. I must say it is getting easier to find components now than back in the 70's and 80's.

I have seen the starline "seasonal" run brass one time in the last 5 years available. I admit I am not looking all the time. I think I would go the 38 spl route for making brass. Just run it through the 41 LC die and throw the split cases away. 38 Spl is easy to get.