.40 S&W, Being Cautious

Inspector3711

I'm new to this caliber and I'm reloading 155 grain hollow points and 180 grain FMJ's. I know the .40 can be a problem as far as excessive pressure goes so......... I'm using HS-6 powder mainly because that's all I could get due to the shortages here.

Nothing wrong with it but I really wanted to try W231 based on favorable results that a friend has had with lighter loads.

Anyway, I don't plan on pushing the limits but I will test both bullets in each increment up to max load just for grins. I'll shoot 10 of each bullet at each increment for testing. The issue is that I have a Hornady book that differs some from Hodgdon's website. The max loads are as follows:

Hodgdon Hornady

155g 8.5 max 8.8max
180g 6.9 max 7.6max

Am I pushing the limits by going with the Hornady data? I'll be testing with my XDm.

Shoney

Inspector3711
Here is a list of data that should be incluuded in the reipes in each book, in addition to what you have listed.

primer,
barrel length,
twist,
case length, and
case mfg..

I make a comparrison of this data with the weapon I am loading for. As an example, X-book lists a 4" barrel with 5.5 grains max, and Y-book lists a 5" barrel with 5.2 grains. Since I have a 4" barrel, I would lean toward the X-book data, provided other variables are same/close.

Do you have the data?

Inspector3711

Both with a 4 inch barrel, 1 in 16 twist, both Hornady case trimmed .845", and both with Winchester Small Pistol primers. I was amazed that they were all the same.

My XDm has a 4.5" barrel.

Shoney

It is kind of strange because Hornady is usually anemic in there data, but they are sure higher here.

Here is the Hodgdon 40 S&W data with components.
CASE: HORNADY
PR: WINCHESTER SP
BBL: 4"

155 GR. HDY XTP_HS-6_1.125"__7.7--1035--26,500 PSI__8.5--1137--33,200 PSI

180 GR. HDY XTP_HS-6_1.125"__6.1--876--25,900 PSI__6.9--976--32,500 PSI

Shoney