.38 Spl Wadcutter dies by RCBS

Southla1

Member In Memoriam
Guys I need an answer :D.

For more years than I will admit to I have loaded .38 Spl. wadcutters both for my .357 "N" frame S&W, and my Model 52 S&W with regular RCBS .38Spl dies. These include both commercial hollow base wadcutters and solid ones that I cast myself.

A few days ago on E-bay I saw a set of RCBS .38 Spl. dies up for auction that were claimed to be for "wadcutter" use.

I never heard of a special die for this. I went to RCBS's website but could not find anything on them. I also checked "Handloading" by Nonte and could find no mention on this.

Could someone explain to me what the differnece is? Is it the seating stem (that's the only thing I can think of) that's different or what?

cheygriz

Southla,

I think that what the seller meant was that his seating die had a wadcutter seating stem.

I've been reloading since 1964, and I've never seen a "wadcutter die." however, any seating die will work for wadcutters if it has a wadcutter stem.

Southla1

Member In Memoriam
Thanks guys. I figured that it almost had to be a stem. I am like y'all .............................. been at it since the early 60's and haven't seen it all yet or ever figure to.

C.R.Sam

Just for grins.....how bout emailing the seller and asking if there is anything special bout them other than the seating plug.

Sam

Quantrill

"wadcutter dies"

Carl,
This might have been listed by a non-reloader who only knew that the die set had been used to reload .38 wadcutters. Possibly a widow or friend. Just a thought. Bill

WIL TERRY

THERE ARE INDEED RCBS 38SPL WADCUTTER DIE SETS.

I HAVE AT LEAST TWO SETS OF THEM, THE LAST SO NEW I'VE NOT SET 'EM UP YET.

THE FIRST HAS AN OVERSIZE CARBIDE SIZER DIE, [ IT'S A 38S+W/38SUPER DIE IN ACTUALITY ] FOR USING ON THOSE THICKSIDED WCC 71 MILITARY CASES OF WHICH I HAVE A VERITABLE SHIQLOAD.