357 Rossi 92 lever action

TGR

Hi I am new to reloading. Does anyone have experience with reloading 357 magnum for a Rossi lever action rifle? I am looking for some advice with the type of bullets work best. For example, Flat nose, round nose, lead bullets. FMJ, SPJ,HPJ. Weight of bullets 125,158? 180? Berry bullets, Barnes bullets? I am looking for advice from experienced reloaders to steer me in the right direction. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

AlaskaMike

I've had great success with loading for my Rossi 92. While I have yet to find a bullet profile that won't feed, either in .38 special or .357 mag, I know that others have had problems with some profiles in their rifles. The one that always seems to work though, is the round nose flat point style, so I'd probably recommend you start there.

I would recommend you avoid plated bullets though, for a couple of reasons. One is that they don't typically have a crimp groove. In a tube magazine with a lever action rifle, you want a good roll crimp to avoid recoil setting bullets deeper in the case. Another reason is that above the design velocity, the plating tends to flake off, and your accuracy goes in the toilet. Some plated bullets do better with others in this area, depending on the thickness of the plating. I've never had very good luck with plated bullets either in revolvers or my carbines though.

For bullet weights, I've had great luck with pretty much any bullet weight with my 92. I have molds for 125 and 150 grain SWCs, and also a 170 grain RNFP. They all shoot wonderfully in my gun. I would probably recommend you talk to different cast bullet companies, since several will send you small samples for free or cheap, and you can see which ones your rifle likes best. Matt's Bullets, and Montana Bullet Works are two that I've ordered from and both offer some great bullet designs.

Hope that helps, and good luck!

Lurch37