357 Rossi 92 lever action rifle

TGR

I am new to reloading. I am looking for advice from reloaders that have experience with reloading target loads for a 357 Rossi lever action rifle. For example. What type of bullets Flat head, round head? FMJ, SPJ,HPJ, lead bullets? What weight of bullets, 158,125,180? Any manufacturer bullets work better then others. Such as Berrys Bullets, Barnes bullets so on? Advice from experience reloaders would be much appreciated. Thanks

44 AMP

Staff
I would avoid plated bullets, like Berry's. There may be some that are suitable for the velocities a carbine will produce, but you'll have to do some research on that, specifically. Most plated bullets are not made to be used at carbine speeds.

Expanding bullets are made to operate within a range of velocities, and the speed they can be fired from a carbine can be too much for some pistol bullets. Especially the lighter ones. 125gr JHP's can be overdriven in a carbine, resulting in "explosive" expansion and reduced penetration, which is not good if you are hunting game animals.

Also, the heaviest slugs (180+) can be loaded too long to cycle through the action. I don't know about the Win 92 design guns, but I know the Marlins are rather picky about that.

Take a look in any reloading manual that has a .357 in the rifle section, and see what they used there.

jetinteriorguy

I would avoid plated bullets, like Berry's. There may be some that are suitable for the velocities a carbine will produce, but you'll have to do some research on that, specifically. Most plated bullets are not made to be used at carbine speeds.

Expanding bullets are made to operate within a range of velocities, and the speed they can be fired from a carbine can be too much for some pistol bullets. Especially the lighter ones. 125gr JHP's can be overdriven in a carbine, resulting in "explosive" expansion and reduced penetration, which is not good if you are hunting game animals.