.357 more accurate than 38sp out of a .357 carbine?

idek

I have a .357 lever action, but I've mostly shot 38sp loads in it. However, since I could load .357 cases down to 38sp levels if i wanted, would I likely get better accuracy from downloaded .357s compared to 38sp since it would eliminate that extra little jump from the chamber to the rifling?

Nick_C_S

I'm going to take a stab at this; even though I'm no expert. Someone smarter than me may come along and supersede everything here:

The short answer is: I don't think it matters. For starters, both 38 Special and 357 Magnum are inherently accurate chamberings. I shoot a lot of 38 Special rounds through 357 Mag handguns. And I can tell you that they shoot straight. I don't see how it would be any different in a lever action rifle.

Clark

I know from shooting 44 mag and 45 Colt rifles that accuracy does not depend on reaching the lands. It is more dependent on roll crimp.

idek

Thanks for the responses. I'll probably keep loading 38sp cases then, and reserve my .357 cases for actual .357 loads.

Hammerhead

I get slightly better accuracy in my H&R single shot carbine with .357 brass, but the bullets are still nowhere near the lands.

For lever guns .357 brass usually cycles better, but it doesn't sound like you have a problem there. My Marlin did not like .38 brass.

stubbicatt

I guess there is no way to tell about accuracy really, other than to try different ideas out and see what you get.

I agree with another contributor who suggests that a good roll crimp makes a difference, at least with cast bullets.