357 HP or wad cutter

cactus4

I'm new to TFL and need some information about ammo.I have a Taurus 357 mag,ccw hammer.I was told that shooting any type of Hallow point is useless because of the 2 1/4 barrel,the round will not expand,including Hyd.shok ammo.True or False??
Thanks
Ray

False to an ever-increasing degree.

New bullet designs are showing good expansion and penetration even at lower velocities.

As I tried to point out to someone in another thread, what was true 25 years ago regarding bullet expansion is no longer true. It's a different world out there.

That said, the most critical aspect of a defensive round is adequate penetration -- at least 12".

Penetration allows you to get into vital organs to disrupt critical body functions, cause blood loss, etc.

While a minimum of 12" of penetration may seem to be excessive, it actually IS necessary, because you may not be shooting at someone who is standing stock still, facing you.

You may have to shoot through another object, such as a shoulder, hand, forearm, BEFORE you can start penetrating into the body cavity.

I've carried Federal Nyclads in my .38 Spl. for years, 125-gr. +P, but I'm currently rethinking that choice and looking for a new defensive carry round based on the Nyclad's somewhat limited penetration.

cactus4

Thanks Mike for the info.I'm thinking along the lines of defensive use anyway,5,10 feet and I'm sure the 357 will have the peneration ,same for 38 right?I bought a box of 357 FMJ HP,federal hydroshock but never tried them due to the wrong info I got.I feel better now about them .
Ray:D

RWK

Cactus . . .

I agree with Mike and would offer one additional point. The .357 magnum -- any load, from any barrel length -- is an awesomely powerful round. For defensive purposes, if you accurately hit the center-of-mass with a .357 mag -- particularly with a "double tap" -- I strongly suspect the criminal will soon cease to be a threat.

Ben Shepherd