.308 Varmintmaster Mil & Comm Casings?

Sgt. Mike

I've asked this around before, but thought I would try again. I have a Weatherby Varmintmaster in .308 Winchester. Commercial loads shoot fine, if you can find them at a reasonable price.

Military brass with a case length of 2.005", shooting a Sierra Matchking 175 grains starts to stick in the chamber at 43.5 grains of Win. 748. If I trim the case to 2.000" the case removes easily, as it should. Sure a tight chamber is nice but using a rubber hammer to remove casings is a bit tedious and hard on the gun.

The military sniper loads shoot the 175 Sierra Matchking Bullet at 2715 f.p.s. according to my Oehler. The Sierra Reloading Manual says the 175 Sierra MK can be loaded to 45.5 grains, then take a 5% reduction for a military casing.

This gun likes factory loads or very short military brass. I'm open to suggestions. I have a couple of other .308 Winchesters, M1A and a Savage that shoot anything without a problem, within the book, of course.

Has anyone had this problem? I'm open to suggestions but having to trim the casings to <2.000" for some reason is not to my liking. All help is appreciated. :confused: Michael

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
I guess I'd regard trimming the GI brass to 2.000" as "just one of those things". If loads with those cases are equally accurate in the other rifles, I'd either live with it or set up a few boxes which are reserved for the Weatherby.

csmsss

Military brass will actually operate at a slightly higher pressure level than .308 commercial brass, since the case capacity is slightly less (thicker case walls). You should probably reduce your charge a grain or so if your brass is marked as 7.62mm NATO.

Sgt. Mike

.308 Varmintmaster

I'm down nearly 2 grains at this point. Any point in having the throat made longer? Michael

csmsss