.308, loads/powder?

45Badger

I'm about to start reloading .308 Win. This is my first time reloading rifle calibers. I have three .308's that I'll be loading for-

M1A for target, and possible varmit/coyote
Browning BLR, deer gun
Thompson Center Encore pistol, deer

Looking for good loads for these guns and uses. Also, any chance that one powder will work well for all three? I shoot and load (a lot) .45 acp, and use a couple different powders. Would prefer to keep this simple. Thanks.

sricciardelli

Last time I looked, there were at least 143 different bullets on the market for the .308, plus there were 43 different powders that could be used with those bullets, and in addition there are over 12 different primers.

That alone gives around 73,788 possible combinations. Now take into consideration the 5 major brass manufacturers, and the number is up to 368,940...

There is nothing simple when you have all those possible combinations.

45Badger

Now that we all know that this is a very complex issue, any specific information and/or assistance will be appreciated. Thanks!

labgrade

Member In Memoriam
Likely, the M1 will be your limiting factor regards powder choice/power level.

Never reloaded for one but have heard that they don't like some of the beefier stuff due to the gassing, etc. Could be way off base & am certain someone will correct me. ;)

Ideally, a load tailored to each one would be ideal, but that starts to get away from that "simpler" idea.

Could be you'll luck out & have onoe load that shoots "good enough" in each & you'll only have to load the one.

Stranger things have happened ... ;)

For your stated uses, you could do worse than a Nosler Ballistic tip in the 150-165 grain weight range. Nicely enough accurate for all but the most demanding target work, a goodly boattail for down range trajectories, etc. & well within the deer-class expansion characteristics. Bit pricey though.