.308 case not fitting?

Oath Keeper

I've been reloading for a bit (6 years) and this is a new issue for me.

I have some Winchester .308 that have gone through a few firings and I was going to retire them. I had some '93 LC Match brass fall on my lap and I was excited. When I resized it I had to put extra line on it. It was tough as all Hell. When I went to shootpt it my bolt didn't want to close. I had to force it shut. I fired anyway and compared the case it the Sami spec and it was spot on. I pulled a bullet and measured the cases and the shoulder isn't bumped back enough. I pulled all the projectiles and tried to resize it and I couldn't get the shoulder back enough. Whenever I resize any other brass it fits into my case gauge fine. What an I missing with this brass?

I've used RCBS, Hornady and Lee dies on it. All three hours through the full range with little to no effort.

30Cal

Case gage? A ding on the rim will keep them from dropping in even if they're sized correctly.

3kgt2nv

it could be his chamber was out of spec so the case is garbage. very common if it was shot in an old mil surp rife.

could also be if it was military lr ammo in 308 the case specs could be slightly different.

the only time I had an issue like you described is when I formed some 308 from 306 for the thicker case walls for 1000yrd bench rest shooting

condor bravo