308 AR's RRA or DPMS

Polinese

I'm still new to firearms and am doing research into what i'd want out of a 308 ar feature wise. But I was curious as to other people's opinions between the two brands. I couldn't find a whole lot on the RRA 308 but people seem to favor RRA over DPMS when it comes to AR-15s.

jeepman4804

I did a lot of research before buying my DPMS .308 ap4. I was originally going to get a LAR308, but after reading about a bunch of feed problems associated with the choice of magazines I decided that the DPMS was the way to go. It is the SR-25 platform which many other big bore manufacturers use and pmags are everywhere for about $20. I have only had mine for a few days now, but the first 200 rounds have been flawless. Hope to put another 200 this weekend. I will say that I got a very tight rifle, takes some help to break it down. Would rather it be tight than loose though.

riverwalker76

Remington makes the DPMS uppers.

Rock River Arms makes a good product as well, and they aren't owned by a conglomerate.

It's all about "who do you want to support?". ;)

I have no qualms about either.

ripnbst

I have heard lots of good things about DPMS and being reliable. The RRA I have not heard anything great about, not saying they aren't good, just saying I haven't heard about it.

PIGMAN

I bought a dpms .308 during November. These are really nice rifles.The fit and finish is excellent.I have fired about 200 rounds thru it with out any malfunctions.The only criticism I have is the trigger,otherwise this is a flawless rifle. Here is a link with instructions for improving the trigger:

http://www.sargenthome.com/15_Minute_AR_Trigger_Job.htm

Otherwise there are several manufacturers who make a drop in trigger for this rifle for around $200.

jeepman4804