.30 Blackout Cartridge ?

TX Hunter

I was in our local gunshop yesterday, and the man behind the counter showed me this new round, It was a factory box of what looked like .223 necked up to .30 calliber. He claimed that is was sub sonic, and would be a good deer round out to about 200 yards.
I liked the looks of it, as it looked like it would require very little powder to reload.
Does anyone out there know anything about this cartridge ?

NWPilgrim

Try these to start:

http://www.300aacblackout.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/300_AAC_Blackout_%287.62x35mm%29

I have no hands on experience with it. From what I can tell the .300 Blackout replicates the 7.62x39 performance with 123 gr bullets, maybe a little faster. It has some advantages over that however:

- Little body taper so it can use standard USGI 5.56 mags and does not have the mag/feed issues of the 7.62x39 in the AR15 platform

- Uses the more numerous and varied .308" bullets rather than the .311"

- Can shoot the 200/220 gr bullets subsonic for more effective suppressed fire, as well as 123 gr bullets at around 2,400 fps from a 16" barrel for hunting or self defense. From short barreled rifles it has better performance than the slow 5.56 which loses a lot of velocity in SBRs.

So it has the better terminal ballistics of the 7.62x39 bullet weight, can be subsonic or supersonic, feeds from standard USGI mags with no modifications, and uses common .308" bullets.

On the down side, it has the same range limitations of the 7.62x39 of not much more than 150-200 yds before the bullet drop becomes significant.

cmdc

I'm having one built, and as soon as it is done, and I shoot it, I'll post a report.

It is basically a re-worked 300 Whisper, but can be used with standard AR BCG, etc. I'm looking forward to shooting it.

TX Hunter

Thanks, I saw this cartridge and wanted it, i love low recoil .30 calliber cartridges, this one looks like it has alot to offer.

rsilvers

Stck_5852-1024-MT.jpg

Mobuck