$2k AR Build

LockedBreech

Hey all,

I'm helping my brother pick out components for an AR primarily for range and home defense purposes.

His police department gave him a nice Colt M4 but he wants one of his own. I have some decent AR experience but you fine folks have more.

Necessary specs:
- 16" chrome lined barrel
- Foregrip
- Holo or Red Dot sight
- 5.56x45 caliber

Lowers and Uppers MUST be:
- Daniel Defense
- Noveske
- Bravo Company MFG
- LaRue

I am a fan of Magpul components.

Well, thats it! 2,000 is not a minimum, but it is a maximum.

Given those constraints, what would you build?

DubC-Hicks

Why no Spikes Tactical on the list? :confused:

They are just as good, but not as pricey (They run right around $800). That leaves plenty of money for a sight and ammo. I love my M4 LE. About 2600 rounds since August with NO problems at all.

5 Screw Smith

Why no Spikes Tactical on the list? :confused:
Good question...

Their components are mil-spec and very reasonably priced.

They also include M16 bolt carriers with their complete rifles or uppers. ;)

http://www.spikestactical.com/new/z/st15-midlength-le-carbine-p-443.html

Plus I got a decal like this with my purchase:

4d16_35.JPG

5RWill

Get BCM, Spikes, or DD. Use the other 1000$ you save to get quality parts and bullets. I don't doubt Noveske is a fine AR but it's nowhere near worth the 900$ more than a BCM, Spikes, or DD IMO. People can flame me all they want, point me somewhere where the Noveske does something any of those can. I mean no disrespect they just seemed overpriced is all. It's like justifying the ridiculous price for a M24 or a SR-15.

LockedBreech

Thanks for the info about Spikes! I was unfamiliar with them, looks great.

I realize my list is pretty restrictive. Its just a good chunk of money and I want to make sure my brother gets a great AR that will last a lifetime.

mc223

His police department gave him a nice Colt M4 but he wants one of his own.