2a conversations

gaseousclay

I was taking with a woman I know last month about recent events, like the rioting, looting and arson that’s been springing up, and she surprised me when she said she was planning on buying a handgun for self defense. She said that she no longer felt safe and didn’t see things getting better. I told her that I was a gun owner and pro-2a advocate and briefly touched on why I became a gun owner and the importance of firearm safety.

Fast forward, a couple days ago we had another conversation about firearms where she proceeded to say, “I don’t know why people need weapons of war like AK47’s for self defense.” I know that there are those that own AK’s but I think she was conflating the AK with the ar15. I then asked her if she meant the ar15 because that is the rifle that has been demonized by the media because of mass shootings. She then fumbled and said she wasn’t sure but that she didn’t think it was necessary to own guns that can fire so many rounds so fast. I explained to her that the ar15 is a semiautomatic, just like the handgun she wants to purchase and explained the difference between semiautomatic and automatic.

In a nice way I suggested she educate herself on ar15’s, especially if she wants a handgun, before rushing to judgement on it as a self defense weapon. I don’t think she quite understood that when it comes to personal safety the firearm that one uses is a personal choice. I’m glad she’s at least taken the first step towards gun ownership but I fear her rationale may be clouded. I didn’t tell her I owned an ar15 because of her knee jerk response.