.243 Win target bullet?

jhansman

I have a .243 Win coming in and would like to load up some ammo for it when my range finally opens. Would those of you who shoot this caliber for paper punching give me an idea of what bullet performs best out of a 24" barrel with a 1 in 10 twist rate? I'm thinking 90 grain, but I'm new to this caliber and the range of bullet weights for it is broad. Will likely be starting with Accurate XMR-4350 and H 4831. Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.

According to this stability estimator, a 90-grain bullet at 3100 ft/s will produce a stability factor of less than 1.4 (a minimum for target accuracy from Sierra and Harold Vaughn) in an ICAO standard atmosphere if it is more than about 1.037" long. 1.5 is commonly thought to be about the ideal, and for that, the bullet length cannot exceed 1.013". Mind you; there is an assumption in the estimator that the bullet's density is uniform, which it will not be in a hollow point so that you could get away with slightly more length in a hollow point, but not much. You can see the range just for the uniformly dense bullet in the model is tight.

Bart B.

David Tubb won matches and set records with the 243 Winchester. A few others occasionally outscored him with 243's.

Here's some good info....

https://www.6mmbr.com/243Win.html

Its only shortcoming is barrel life's half that of the 308 Winchester.

Last edited:

jhansman

Well, based on the data for an 85 gr. bullet (I settled on the Hornady 87gr. HPBT for starters), the powders I have on order are in that table. Should prove to be an interesting project. This is the first new caliber I've taken on in almost 10 yrs. Dunno when I'll actually have the rifle in hand, as the DOJ here is now saying (what with the plague panic and all) that 10 days will likely be 20 days, or more. Thanks for all the replies. :)

std7mag

A few years ago, i was loading for my wife's Rossi R243. 23" heavy barrel, 1:10 twist.