223 for Bolt Action - opinions welcome

Tallest

I've read around on here a bit trying to find a good starting point for this, but it seems a lot of 223 loads are semi-auto geared.

What I'm wanting is input/experienced opinions on powder and brass preferences for hand loading 223 for a bolt gun, with 55-60 grain varmint bullets. 22" barrel. 1 in 8" twist. I know my gun will be it's own creature, but I'd like to know what has worked well for others.

Reloading manual says Benchmark is most accurate, but it's also fastest. And since this is for a field rifle shooting groundhogs, coyotes and various feral felines, I wonder if a target powder may be out of it's element...? Varget has decent numbers too, but it's over max, and that's something I'm not too experienced with. These are the things I don't know and am still endeavoring to learn. Has any ever used TAC or IMR4198? Both are showing decent velocities without going over max.

Any opinions on brass? There's a ton of 223 brass for bulk reloading and stuffing into AR mags, I suppose that would be suitable and affordable, but if anyone has used higher grade stuff and seen a big difference, please advise!

Thanks all!

rg1

Several good powders for bolt action .223. For cases in bulk you can't beat LC once fired military cases. They do have a primer crimp though, no problems to swage it out. Also they can be sorted by weight and make decent target cases. IMR 8208XBR, Tac, Benchrest, Varget, or even H335 would all work well.

BBarn

I've gotten good results with H335, BL-C2, and Varget in mine using 55 gr. bullets. But it's a 26" heavy barrel in the standard 1 in 12" twist. Have used mostly use older Lake City brass.

603Country

I get excellent accuracy with H335 behind Nosler 40 gr Ballistic Tips, 55 gr Nosler, 60 gr Nosler Partitions, and 65 gr Sierra Gamekings.

That little 40 gr Nosler will knock a coyote flat. Amazing. Not so spectacular with medium to large hogs, however, so that’s what the Partitions are for.