223 1:12 w/ heavier bullets

mwells72774

anyone know of a good load with heavier bullets? or even a good load for a remmy 700 223 ADL. I'm new to reloading personally, but been around it a while.

homesick

Not sure what model 700 you have but my 700VLS does not like any thing over 60 gr. What I have found was the faster twist 1/9 etc are better for heavier bullets.
My VLS shoots 52 gr HPBT Sierra very good 5 shoots in 1/2" MOA or better as long as I do my part.

Jim Watson

My 12 twist 788 does well with Berger 60 grain FLATBASE.
But that is kind of an exotic approach and I would be happy with 52 gr SMK for all my .22 centerfires except the fast twist midrange rifle.

Jim243

Stick with 55 grain bullets or less. You will not be happy with heavier bullets in a 1:12 twist barrel.

Jim

Stick_man

As has been alluded to, a 1:12 twist is to slow to stabilize anything over about 60 grains in the .223 Rem. Stick with the 50-55gr as your "heavy" bullets and you should get great accuracy and performance.

hoffbill

+1 My 700 with 1:12 twist does best with 50gr, does well with 55 gr, starts to wander with anything heavier. You would need a faster twist to shoot heavier bullets with much accuracy.

Servant

My 1:9 twist does better with 62grain than with the 55 grains. From what I understand, the 1:7 twist is better for the heavier bullets, but haven't had the pleasure of using one to know first hand. Seems opposite from what you are saying here.

ragwd

I have a 1:9 and it loves the heavier bullets. great result with 69 grain. I would stay with a lighter bullet for a 1:12.

wingman

Oddly enough all the 223's I've owned were 1/9 twist preferred the 52 gr bullet with only fair accuracy with 69gr smk but I suspect the large bullet would do better at longer ranges which I do not have access to.

jepp2

anyone know of a good load with heavier bullets?