1st M1A handloads - the aftermath.

Battler

43 gr IMR 4064 w/ 150gr flat bottom spitzer in new Winchester brass cut down to 1.995", oal 2.72.

I did 10, shot 7 on one target and 3 on another target (guy with a gun-rest/stand suggested I try it out but those things just don't work for me).

Of the 7, 1 flinched-off flyer 4 inches away, 6 inside a < 1.25" circle - optics are a 2x Aimpoint red dot.

This is my first 308 handload, I'm fairly new to rifle reloading in general, and the best I've EVER shot with ANYTHING - and WAY better than I've done with this gun before. Guess handloads meticulously measured to PRECISE powder charges and length must shoot better than my Radway Green 20 year old surplus.

BTW - this is a starting load rated for ~25xx fps - yet it shot TWO INCHES HIGHER than RG brit surplus. Is this normal? It didn't seem to kick any more than the surplus ammo (seemed lighter).

The rounds fed and functioned perfectly. However, most of the cases have dents in the case wall. On the milsurp I only ever saw almost imperceptible dents - don't know if this means thinner cases or lighter ejection. How much dent makes the case a writeoff? The cases are currently in for cleaning so I haven't resized yet. I realize the case will undent upon firing but I don't want to risk any rupture.

Also - pressure signs. One of the cases showed SLIGHT primer flattening (not truly flat, though, just tiny growth toward edges but still rounded at edges). Should I worry as going up thru loads? With the drastically shortened case necks the brass wouldn't have gone into the chamber - should I just suspect the primer itself, since it was only one?

Is there any diagnostic value to ejection pattern? I caught most of them with a rolled up shirt; but those that ejected a bit more forward hit the ground a couple of yards away, bounced off a wall.