1954 Win M70 270

Nunya53

Ok, so my LGS has had a consignment 1954 Win M70 270 on the rack for a few months....starting price was $999. Yeah I was interested but not THAT interested...It disappeared from the rack while it was on gunbroker but eventually reappeared. The rifle is clean, no rust or spots on the blue and a few honest dings in the stock. I'm no expert, but the bore looked new. The owner said he had sent it off to Colorado for a trigger job and glass bedding. The thing that scared me a little was the barrel, trigger guard and bottom metal was a nice blue, while the receiver was a matt finish. Kinda like a house that's been on the market too long, I was wary but the owner dropped the price to $750

I took a chance and brought it home with me. I can post a pic if there is any interest.

Thoughts on my latest????

Nun

Scorch

Before 1964, Model 70 receivers were kind of satin/matte. But even if it has been reblued, so what? That rifle is 60 years old! Buy the gun for what it is, it's not a collectible, it's a shooter.

eastbank

i have a win 70 made in 1951 in .270 i bought at a very good price as it had a recoil pad put on it and is a super shooter with 140 gr bullets with my favorite load of imr 4350. eastbank.

dmoserwy

I have a 1954 Win 70 Featherweight in .308. Inherited from my father. Great rifle and a great shooter. It does have a recoil pad that I assume dad added.

T. O'Heir

"...on the rack for a few months..." Kind of typical for a deer rifle. Even a pre-64 M70. Wrong time of year.
Mind you, there are some shooters who think any pre-64 M70 will get 'em enough to retire on.

Tony Z

I also have an early 1950's era Model 70 in .270, inherited from dear old dad. It has a sort of matte finish on the receiver and deeper, shiny blue on the barrel. The gun is all original.

COSteve