1911 malfunction - gun or magazine?

IamNOTaNUT

Greetings!

I have recently acquired a Kimber 1911 (Classic Custom Target) and like it a LOT! This is my first 1911. I have been hearing how the 1911 is a finicky design, so I need to know if the problems I am having are normal break in, or if there is a more significant problem. I have not had this much trouble with any other handgun right out of the box, including Sig's, Glocks, Berettas, etc.

1. Occasionally (once or twice through 4 mags of shooting) the gun does not fully extract/eject the spent case. I thought it might have been limp wristing because I am new to the .45 but have since ruled that out because it will do it even with a vicelike grip.

2. Once in a while when I slap a magazine into the gun with the slide back on a reload, the top cartridge pops out. Not a good thing to have happen in the middle of a PPC match.

I have 538 rounds through the gun, mostly with 200 grain LSW handloads and UMC 230 grain ball. Some 185 grain Golden Sabers with no problems, though I haven't put a hundred of those puppies through it yet.

Any suggestions?

Hard Ball

Does this happen with all the magazines you have for your pistol? If so, it is probably a problem with the pistol.

No. 1 sounds like normal break-in for a semi-auto.

It could also be:

1. reloads that aren't correctly sized.

2. a tight chamber.

Try a good thorough cleaning and relubrication to see if that helps the problem any.

Problem No. 2 sounds like a magazine problem in that the feedlips are a little too splayed. I had this problem with one of my .45 mags a few months ago.

James K

Member In Memoriam
Ammo popping out of a magazine is a magazine problem. Period.

You say cases don't extract/eject. Can you describe the problem more fully. Extraction and ejection are related but they are different actions.

Jim

George Hill

Staff Alumnus
I was talking about the failure to fully extract or eject... Thats ammo.