• Wilson Combat

Votes: 12 10.3%
  • Sistema

Votes: 6 5.1%
  • Springfield

Votes: 17 14.5%

• Total voters

Rovert

I am a newbie trying to finalize my decision for a HD weapon, that is also fun to shoot. Put over 200 rounds through my friend's Colt 1911, and also shot an HK, SIG, and Baretta 9mm.

I've decided the 1911 .45ACP is right for me. I didn't care for the HK, because it just didn't seem to fit in my hand very well, and I was more accurate w/ the Colt 1911.

My goal is to find a 1911 form factor that's as accurate as the SIG, but also 'pretty'. I'm very compelled toward the Kimber Custom Eclipse II, but would like to hear everyone's thoughts on makers/models that I might not know about.

Can you please cast your votes, and comment, considering these parameters:

Reliability/Quality
Accuracy
Resale/Investment Value

I'm trying to keep it around $1000 or (preferably) under. A $650 gun today that I can sell for $600 tomorrow is an important consideration contrasted to a $1000 gun today that I can only sell for $500 tomorrow.

TIA!

George Hill

Staff Alumnus
Other options...
Wilson Combat
Ed Brown.
Tussy Custom.
STI.

Take a good look at the Wilson KZ-45... Sweet shooter. For a Pretty gun that you can shoot - any of them will do. For an Investment the Les Baer will do... But maybe an Ed Brown would be better. Tussy Custom is the tops in my book for investments, looks, and 1911 "sex appeal"... but they will cost you some more scratch to get into.

Rovert

George, as a newbie, I wasn't aware even of most of the choices up there, until my friend helped me, and definitely not aware of the options you listed.

Bearing in mind that $1000-ish is my CEILING in terms of price, please feel free to edit the poll list to include the makers you mentioned.

Thanks!

Tamara

Moderator Emeritus
Springfield...

...but I might be biased, seeing as how I have a V-10 Ultra Compact and a Custom Professional, and that I'm very impressed with my roomie's "Loaded" Stainless.