.17 Hornady Hornet

Geezerbiker

Anybody here have any experience with loading for this round. I was hoping to make some loads with #2400 and Hornady 20g bullets but I can't find any date for this powder.

The only powder I have that I can find data on for the .17 Hornet is Lil'gun and I've sworn off it because of how fast it heats the barrels up on the guns I've tried it in...

Tony

ATCDoktor

I have been loading the 17 Hornet since about 2012.

I can't help you with any data using Alliant's 2400, I use the aforementioned Lilgun and as far as I'm concerned it is "the" powder for the 17 Hornet.

I've tried all powders shown on the Hodgdon Website and Lilgun gave the best combination of accuracy and velocity.

If you decide to work up some loads using 2400 be very careful, 1/10th a grain differences in charge weight make a huge difference in this cartridge.

I couldn't even get close to the maximum loads listed in the Hodgdon manual (in my gun) using any of the listed powders.

In fact my chosen load falls almost a half grain below the STARTING charge weight for the 20 grain bullet.

A tenth of a grain more and plastic mallet is required to get the bolt to lift.

The load I'm using gives me 3600 fps with a 20 grain Z max bullet.

It mirrors factory ammo ballistics and has been used to take a great many jackrabbits.

Geezerbiker

Thanx, I may end up loading it with lil'gun since I'm not going to use it in my other guns. Since you're using less than the starting load, what do you recommend as a starting load of lil'gun?

I'm not after max velocity but I like shooting my own loads so if I have the option to shoot 2400, I'll try it...

Tony

Crankylove

I have a .22 Hornet, not the .17, but I've had good results with Lil Gun, and my go to load is W296.

I've also tried 4227, 4895, Bullseye, and Trailboss..............some worked, some...........not so much. But, with limited powder availability, I researched the powders I hand on hand and tried a few.

ATCDoktor