10mm v. 40 Super v. 400 Corbon

CReynolds

I admit to much ignorance in the above listed calibers. I am therefore seeking advice from the many wise and knowledgeable on this board. I will explain.

I used to be a big 9mm fan, carried that caliber for many years. Recently lost faith in the 9mm, and that was all it took. I started shooting 40 and 357 SIG. Both felt good, but I feel the 357 is just a hyped up 9mm and the 40 is a compromise between the power of a .45 and the capacity of the 9mm. I have shot the .45 and love it. It shoots real well for me. Before I make my final decision, however, I wanted to get opinions on the above cartridges and their appropriate deliver systems (types of handguns).

I have done some preliminary research on the topic and it looks like I would have to go to a 1911 platform to utilize these rounds. I have heard that the SIG 220 has been converted to use .40 Super and 400 Corbon.

Any comments are greatly appreciated.

Coley

CastleBravo

.400 Cor-Bon is, in my opinion, the worst choice of the three. Factory .400 Cor-Bon (only available from Cor-Bon) equals factory 10mm ballistics with lighter bullets, but that's it. There are NO heavyweight (180gr-200+gr) factory hunting loads in .400 Cor-Bon. Cor-Bon's load data for making your own .400 Cor-Bon actually has worse ballistics than comparable 10mm load data, and has no data for loads above 165gr. Of course, brass availability is also limited.